Say NO to Dead Weight

Have you or are you dating or married to someone who’s simply Dead Weight? If not, thank your lucky stars. I’ve been there, done that, and not interested in doing it again. No Way!  My experience with dating the “dead weight” was short-lived but a valuable lesson was learned. I’m so glad I had the foresight to walk away from it rather than stay and prolong the inevitable.

This isn’t the case for everyone for one reason or another. Case in point, Towanda Braxton from Braxton Family Values is married to Andre “The Dead Weight” Carter and they have two children together. They have been separated for  some now. On the show we see Andre with no job and no desire to get a job to support his family. He and Towanda don’t have a place of their own. They lived with Toni at one point and then at the beginning of the 2nd season of the show they were living with Trina and her family. Now Towanda has her own home and guess what? Andre is still there. They have moved from home to home and Andre still has no job. Now I know the economy is bad and the unemployment rates are rampant but there are other things that make Andre dead weight besides not having a job.

First, his desire to get a job is not there. You can tell that bamma doesn’t want to work. He seems perfectly content with smooching living off of Towanda’s family.  He wants to be a writer. That’s great! I’m not knocking that. Everyone should pursue their dream. The problem is he is not alone. He has a family to take care of. That means get a job that you may not want for the sake of taking care of your responsibility and continue to pursue your dream as well.  Secondly, the fact that he is quite comfortable with having his wife, kids, and himself living in another man’s house leaves a lot to be desired. Not only is he living there, he is walking around eating a bowl of cereal, like he’s the man. I hope he is watching to see how he looks. When Trina finally asked Towanda to move out (which I know was very hard), what does Andre do? Not a damn thing! Oh except follow Towanda. Which brings me to my next point. Towanda finally buys a house and smooching ass, dead weight Andre asks if he was going to move in. Her response was, “I thought you were going to move in with your grandmother.”  **crickets** He didn’t even attempt to get his own place. Then to top it off he tries to pressure her about their sex life or lack there of. He says a man has needs………….ummm and so does your family. How can he put pressure on her when he has not done anything that Towanda asked him to do in order to try to salvage the marriage? His biggest worry is her moving on with someone else. I say stop making excuses and MAN UP Andre!

I know Towanda has her reasons for not totally kicking his ass to the curb. For example she want to put up a united front  for the children. She doesn’t want a separation or divorce to impact the children negatively. She also keeps him around because she travels a lot. He’s a 24 hour babysitter. I understand that but how long is she willing to keep that front going. Children are very intuitive. Also, what message is Andre sending to his son? It’s ok to let other people take care of you and your family when you are an adult.

In a nutshell, Andre is dead weight. He lacks drive and ambition. He is a free loader that is obviously content with living off his wife and her family. I think Towanda could do better but it is ultimately her choice.  It would be nice to see him get his act together for the sake of his family.

I say to you Truthseeker fans, carrying dead weight can be exhausting. It can pull you down and impact your life in a negative way. Just say NO to dead weight!

Any thoughts?? Insight?? Do share!

Truthseeker411

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Love & Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I Love this show but their relationship is dyfunctional. I honestly think the only reason he is still arond is becasue Towanda is never around. He doesn’t want to work and as much as she complains she supports him so, in short, you get what you put up with. Towanda needs to slow down and take care of her children if she really wants to get rid of him but she likes having the babysitter. He is the dead weight she is willing to carry as long as he is there taking care of the kids.

    Like

  2. LOL!! Good point! I love the show as well but when it comes to Andre I get disgusted. I just had to share my feelings about it. He reminds me of someone I used to date. I ended it quickly when I realized what he was about. Thank you for commenting!

    Like

  3. I too have had my share of dead weight relationships. Its exhausting and draining! Sigh….

    Like

  4. Girl it’s like literally carrying a bunch of bricks.!! LOL! Thank you for reading and commenting. Feel free to stop by anytime.

    Like

Show me love and share your thoughts!

