Date Night Chronicle 2: The Concert

Last month, I was asked to accompany a gentleman to the Avant concert. Now I am not a huge fan of Avant, but he does have a few songs I enjoy. I had just finished finals that week, so the concert was a welcomed distraction. The gentleman and I decided we would meet an hour early to have drinks. When I initially agreed I wasn’t thinking that it was Friday, I had to work, the traffic was going to be horrible, and I had only a limited about of time to  get home and get dressed. I should have opted for drinks after the concert. For those who know me knows my a$$ is never on time **shrugs** What can I say , I’m a work in progress! Any who, I had every intention of being on time; it just didn’t happen.

I left work at 4:00 only to be in gridlock.  I live 30 minutes away from my job, stuck in traffic, and I’m nowhere near my house. We barely moved for about an hour. Now it’s 5:00, I’m still not home, and I’m supposed to meet the gentleman at 7:00. I finally arrived home at 5:30. I rushed to get showered and pull together an outfit. Of course, I went through a few before choosing the winning outfit. As I was getting dressed, I received a text from the gentleman. He wrote………….

Gentleman: I’m at the IP fyi, I know I’m early. I wasn’t sure how long it would take. I’m gonna grab a quick bite to eat, since I didn’t stop on the road. Just holla when you get here. No rush at all 😉

Me: Ok great! I’m running a few minutes behind. I will see you soon!

I looked at the clock and it’s 6:30 and I’m still not ready.  I scurried along and finished getting dressed. It’s 6:45 and I am finally out the door. It was raining cats and dogs and of course I was in Friday night traffic. The concert venue is 30 minutes away, just like my work place. Since it was raining, I took my time. No date is worth dying over. A few minutes later, I got a text from the gentleman again. He wanted to know if everything was ok.  I replied back and said, “I’m almost there and I’m sorry for running late.” I finally arrived and decided to valet because I thought it would be quicker. Valet was full…just my luck! I hightailed it to the parking garage to find a park. That wasn’t an easy feat either. I finally parked and made my way to the 2nd floor. As I got off the elevator, there he was looking handsome as ever. He gave me a huge smile and hug and whispered in my ear “you’re beautiful and you’re late”. I blushed and apologized profusely.  He grabbed my hand and said no time for drinks, the show starts in 15 minutes.

We found our seats and waited for the concert to start. We had fifth row seats. We talked and talked until the concert started. After the journey I had to get there, I finally relaxed. Avant opened with an upbeat song that I didn’t know. He continued with the classics that we all know and love. He did a tribute to Michael Jackson, which wasn’t a very good one. He didn’t know all the words. The gentleman and I laughed. Then Avant started performing a song we didn’t know. At that point the gentleman looked over at me and said, “I have a confession to make.” Oh really! He said that he wasn’t a huge fan of Avant and that he just really wanted to see me. I laughed and said neither am I. We both laughed again! The show finally ended and we went to a lounge to have drinks.

While having drinks, I took the opportunity to apologize again for being late. He laughed and cracked a few jokes about my tardiness. He went on to say he was little nervous for second because he thought I was going to stand him up. I told him that I wouldn’t do that because I wouldn’t want it done to me. We continued our conversation and drinks. We had a good time but all good things must come to an end. Besides, I had reached my two drink minimum. I know, I know, I am a light weight.

The gentleman walked me to my car. He gave me a hug and kiss on the cheek and said he hoped he could see me again. I smiled and told him I had a great time and the next time I will be on time. I smiled and he said yeah right. We both laughed. I thanked him for a wonderful time. We said our goodbyes.

Overall, I enjoyed the concert and drinks with the gentleman. He was a lot of fun and has a great sense of humor.

Do you have a date night story?  Singles? Significant Others? Married Couples? Do share!

Truthseeker411

Posted on June 22, 2012, in Love & Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Show me love and share your thoughts!

