Guest Post: “Check Engine Light”

One of the things I enjoy about blogging is networking with other bloggers. I have come across many talented bloggers. Every once in a while, I like to feature the fabulous work of those great bloggers. Introducing a brilliant writer with an incredible sense of humor and wisdom that is beyond measure. You definitely won’t see or hear the last of Peter Black. He’s going to take the world of vlogging by storm. Check it out!

“Check please,” I mumbled, motioning for the waitress…It was obvious.  She was unaware of my urgency, moving slower than a dead snail.  Is that possible?  LOL!  I motioned again, my arms flailing about, hoping to be seen.  I looked at my date Shannon, avoiding eye contact, hoping she couldn’t read my mind.  We were on our second date, two dates too many. To be fair, I’d like to tell you about Shannon.  She’s educated; by this I mean, she has a few letters behind her last name.  Shannon routinely exercises and on a scale from one to ten she’s a 7.5.  I think if she changed her hair just a bit, she’d be an 8, easily.

I met Shannon at a birthday party, numbers were exchanged and after a few phone calls we were at the park, she talked, I talked, we both listened.  Her father, a bum, her brother, under achiever, her ex-fiancée, a loser and if I didn’t follow her motherly advice she said, I too would be less than what I should be.

The second date or as I like to say, the second opinion, watching Sunday Night Football at a local bar.  Shannon complained the minute we walked in.  The bar stools, too high, it was too cold and then too hot.  At one point she actually said, “it’s too noisy in here!”  Scout’s honor, she said it.  LOL!  I attempted to change the conversation’s direction.  However, Shannon hated the teams playing, Barrack and Mitt and the plastic cups we drank from.  Check please!

I walked Shannon to her car, opened the door giving her a big hug, hands staying above the waist, being careful not to send mix messages. “I had a nice time,” she said.  “Me too, ” I replied.  No, I didn’t mean it.  I don’t pretend to be Sigmund Freud and in this situation one doesn’t need to be.  It was apparent Shannon had issues.  I didn’t look back as I walked to my car, feeling a sense of relief.  Sitting behind the steering wheel of my car I realized that when it comes to relationships we’re all used car salesman.  Like Shannon we’ve all accumulated miles AND a few dings, some more than others.  Your first owner, the first time you fell in love.  Over the years there’s ware and tear caused by horrifying dates, bad relationships, selfish boy/girl friends and over bearing parents just to name a few.  However, as with all successful sales, each car should be, waxed, polished, properly maintained and tuned up, maximizing value in return.

When your car has a problem, the check engine light, when functioning properly, illuminates, letting you know something needs fixing.  In glowing fashion, Shannon’s personal check engine light shined brightly.  I’m not a mechanic, so I can’t tell you what Shannon needs to fix.  Better yet, even if I knew, I’m not sure I’m interested in fixing it.  If I gave you a million dollars to buy a car, the car of your dreams, would you buy it with the check engine light on?

Sincerely,

Peter Black

About the Author:

Peter Black aka Benghazi dons a panoramic outlook, giving him a unique hue.  He is a full-fledged libertarian, living life according to his own terms.  Rocked since birth, Peter has Rock Star DNA and is well-traveled.  Born in the South and raised by his mother, he’s a Southern Gentleman but has an affinity for the East Coast.  Peter enjoys the creative process and when he’s not blogging, he’s creating projects for his You Tube channel.

If you like this post please give us feedback and share with a friend.

Truthseeker411

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great Analogy…. and NOPE would not buy a car with a check engine light on LOL. Yes we all need a tune up every now and again and certainly before getting a new driver HA!

    Like

  2. May I simply say what a comfort to find an individual who truly knows what they are discussing on the internet.
    You definitely know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    A lot more people need to look at this and understand
    this side of your story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular because you surely have
    the gift.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading
    it, you might be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your
    blog and may come back at slme point. I want to encourage you
    to ultgimately continue your gfeat job, have a nice weekend!

    Like

  4. Hello! Wouod yyou mind if I share your blog wityh my facebook
    group? There’s a lot of folks thawt I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you

    Like

  5. I am extremely inspired with your writing abilities andd also wioth the fomat for
    your blog. Is tat this a paid subject matter or ddid you modify it yourself?

    Anyway stay up the nice high quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a great weblog like this one today..

    Like

  1. Pingback: Your Truth About Dating Story 12-3-12 « The Truth About Dating

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: Friend Request « The Truth About Dating

Show me love and share your thoughts!

