Wash n Go Routine

We are knee-deep in the summer and I am willing to bet that every natural hair diva has developed some type of hair routine or protective style. Beating the heat while looking fabulous is the name to the game!

I have rocked a wash-n-go since May. I’m loving every minute of it. It’s just so damn convenient. I have experimented with a several products, but there are two products that have won me over. Of course there are challenges with being naturally fab. One challenge is getting 2, 3, and 4 day hair. ūüôā ¬†The biggest, yet unavoidable challenge is those pesky single strand knots aka fairy knots!

 

Product Review

After experimenting with a few products, I tried a sample of U R Curly Loose Curl Enhancer that I received at a meetup. This stuff is the bomb! It¬†is alcohol-free, rich with Glycerin and Soy Protein and enhanced with Provitamin B5 and Echinacea, which are great for moisture. It doesn’t leave my hair hard, crunchy, and stringy. It doesn’t dry my hair out ¬†or leave a sticky residue. My hair is soft and curly,not to mention it helps with frizz. ¬†The fragrance is very light! I’m not sure how the U R Curly Tight Curl Enhancer works but this is a winner for me. Well at least for my summer routine. I have to admit I was skeptical at first, because my hair likes creamy products more so than products with a gel like consistency. The biggest task was finding it locally. I tried Wal-Mart, Walgreen’s, Sally’s, and Ulta. No Luck at ALL!! I searched online only to find that it was on back order. Needless to say I found it at a Wal-Mart when I was in the D.C. area. The price was $8.99. You better believe I racked up! Several sites have it and the price ranges from $8.99-$9.99. Not too bad for 8.5 oz.

The other product I use for my wash-n-go is Ouidad Curl Quencher Hydrafusion Intense Curl Cream. I LOVE THIS STUFF! I have only used it for my wash-n-gos. It leaves my hair moisturized, frizz-free, defined, soft, and shiny all day. It’s a light-weight cream but it packs a mighty punch. I get beautiful ringlets with is stuff. I don’t use it daily because it’s $26 for 5 oz. I use it on special occasions or when I am feeling extra fly. I found this product at Ulta.

 

 Wash-n-Go Routine

I have developed two wash-n-go routines for the summer. One routine is quick and easy, while the other takes a little more time.

Quick and Easy

I co-wash my hair daily while in the shower. I may wash my hair with shampoo once a week and sometimes once every two weeks. I detangle and let the conditioner marinate while I handle my shower business. I rinse and wrap my hair in a t-shirt. No Towels!! I apply leave-in and styler. I style my hair in the desired style using my hands only. If my hair is still drippy, I diffuse lightly.

  • Conditioner: Suave Almond and Shea Butter or Tresemme` Naturals Nourishing Moisture
  • Leave-in: As I Am Leave-in Conditioner
  • Styler: U R Curly Loose Curl Enhancer
  • Refresher: 4 Naturals Freshen Up Curl Refresher

 A Little More Time and Effort

After a fresh shampoo or co-wash ritual, while ¬†my hair is wet I put my hair in about 6-8 twists. This is a modified version of¬†Curly Nikki’s routine. It’s what she calls the Pippi! I wish I could only put my hair in two twists. It’s too thick and a little shorter than Curly Nikki. ¬†I wrap my hair in a t-shirt for 10-15 minutes. This help to speed up drying but don’t leave the twists in too long. ¬†I then pull apart each twist adding leave-in and styler to each section. I style and voila`! The results are awesome! I have a more stretched look. The curls have¬†clumps¬†and are popping everywhere!

  • Shampoo: Giovanni Tea Tree Triple Threat
  • Conditioner:¬†Suave Almond and Shea Butter or Tresemme` Naturals Nourishing Moisture
  • Leave-in: Karen’s Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia
  • Styler: Ouidad¬†Curl Quencher Hydrafusion Intense Curl Cream

I have not figured out how to get more days out of this style without wetting it every day. The satin bonnet smashes it beyond repair and I can’t pineapple. I leave the house with wet to damp hair but it’s not a problem at the moment……..It dries in no time because it’s so damn hot!!

wng2-e1374763962401

What is your summer routine? What new products have you tried? Do you have any tips or suggestions on how to maintain a wash-n-go style?

Posted on July 25, 2013, in For the Love of Natural Hair and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Show me love and share your thoughts!

